
VK2735 dosage
Doses given in registered human trials, how long they ran, and the arithmetic for working with vials.
- Regulatory status
- Investigational
- Human amounts
- Phase 2 VENTURE: 2.5, 5.0, 10 or 15 mg once weekly for 13 weeks (titrated); phase 3 VANQUISH registered at 7.5, 12.5 and 17.5 mg once weekly; oral formulation tested once daily (amounts not in registry)
- Route studied
- Subcutaneous injection; oral tablet in separate trials
- Frequency
- Once weekly (subcutaneous); once daily (oral)
- Half-life
- A numerical half-life was not located; the VENTURE report states only that a side chain extends half-life after subcutaneous injection
- Evidence grade
- Grade A · Human trial evidence
- Vial sizes on the market
- Not recorded
- Other forms seen
- —
What VK2735 is
VK2735 is an investigational peptide that activates both the GLP-1 and GIP receptors and is being studied as a once-weekly injection and as an oral formulation. One 13-week phase 2 randomized trial has been published, and phase 3 trials are under way. It is not an approved medicine, and this entry is for research information only.
VK2735 is described as a GLP-1 receptor and GIP receptor dual agonist that incorporates the activities of both incretin hormones 1. Receptor binding The VENTURE report states that VK2735 binds with high affinity to the GLP-1 receptor (IC50 188 nM) and the GIP receptor (IC50 325 nM), citing unpublished data from the sponsor 1. No independent peer-reviewed pharmacology paper was located for this entry 1.… How it works →
Key evidence
- Bays et al., Obesity (VENTURE) · 2026 · Humans (176 adults with obesity or overweight and at least one weight-related comorbidity, no diabetes)
- Phase 1 registry record (NCT05203237) · 2021 · Healthy adults and adults with increased BMI (92 enrolled)
- VENTURE oral registry record (NCT06828055) · 2024 · Adults with obesity or overweight (280 enrolled)
Schedules by time period
study arms from registered trials, laid out week by week. Each bar is what the label states or what investigators gave participants; none is a recommendation.
Phase 2 VENTURE (NCT06068946): study arms 1
Adults with BMI 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with a weight-related comorbidity, without diabetes (176 enrolled) · 13 weeks
Week-by-week table
| Period | Amount |
|---|---|
| Weeks 0–13 | 2.5 mg (maintenance) |
Week-by-week table
| Period | Amount |
|---|---|
| Weeks 0–3 | 2.5 mg |
| Weeks 3–13 | 5 mg (maintenance) |
Week-by-week table
| Period | Amount |
|---|---|
| Weeks 0–3 | 2.5 mg |
| Weeks 3–6 | 5 mg |
| Weeks 6–9 | 7.5 mg |
| Weeks 9–13 | 10 mg (maintenance) |
Week-by-week table
| Period | Amount |
|---|---|
| Weeks 0–3 | 5 mg |
| Weeks 3–6 | 7.5 mg |
| Weeks 6–9 | 10 mg |
| Weeks 9–13 | 15 mg (maintenance) |
Titration from the study-design figure (Figure S1) in the article supplement; dose escalation visits at weeks 3, 6 and 9 (Table S1). Last dose at week 12, end of treatment at week 13. Placebo arm received volume-matched injections.
Doses given in human trials
- In VENTURE (NCT06068946), participants were randomized 1:1:1:1:1 to weekly subcutaneous VK2735 at 2.5, 5.0, 10 or 15 mg or matched placebo for 13 weeks, with titration to the final dose; the 15 mg group started at 5.0 mg and the others at 2.5 mg 1,2.
- VANQUISH 1 (NCT07104500) is registered as a 78-week trial of once-weekly VK2735 7.5 mg, 12.5 mg or 17.5 mg versus placebo in an estimated 4,500 adults without type 2 diabetes 5.
- VANQUISH 2 (NCT07104383) is registered with the same three dose arms and placebo in an estimated 1,100 adults with type 2 diabetes 6.
- The oral phase 2 trial (NCT06828055) is registered with six daily oral dose arms and placebo over 13 weeks in 280 participants 4.
- SUNRISE 1 (NCT07868835) is registered as a 68-week trial of three oral once-daily dose levels versus placebo in an estimated 560 adults without type 2 diabetes, and SUNRISE 2 (NCT07868939) as a trial in adults with type 2 diabetes 7,8.
- VENTURE randomized 176 participants (about 35 per group); the total study lasted 23 weeks, comprising 4 weeks of screening, 13 weeks of treatment and about 6 weeks of safety follow-up 1.
- The phase 1 registry record (NCT05203237; 92 enrolled) lists Part A (single escalating subcutaneous doses in healthy participants), Part B (escalating once-weekly subcutaneous doses for four weeks) and Part C (escalating once-daily oral doses for 28 days), each with placebo; dose amounts are not stated in the registry fields 3.
- SUNRISE 2 (NCT07868939) is registered as a 68-week trial of three oral once-daily VK2735 dose levels versus placebo in an estimated 560 adults with type 2 diabetes 8.
How long did human studies run?
- VENTURE: 13 weeks of treatment 1. VANQUISH 1 and 2: primary endpoint at week 78 5,6. Oral phase 2: 13 weeks 4. SUNRISE 1 and 2: 68 weeks 7,8.
Who was excluded from the studies
- VENTURE excluded participants with diabetes or BMI above 50 1.
- VANQUISH 1 registry exclusion criteria include a self-reported body-weight change of 5% or more within 3 months, prior or planned obesity surgery or device-based therapy, current or past diabetes, glucose-lowering agents within 90 days, a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN 2, and a history of acute or chronic pancreatitis 5.
Side effects reported in studies
- Gastrointestinal disorders (any)51-83% across VK2735 groups versus 37% placebo · VENTURE, 13 weeks 1
- Nausea26-63% across VK2735 groups versus 20% placebo · VENTURE 1
- Vomiting9-29% across VK2735 groups versus 0% placebo · VENTURE 1
- Constipation20-29% across VK2735 groups versus 11% placebo · VENTURE 1
- Adverse event leading to treatment discontinuation3-20% across VK2735 groups (20% at 15 mg) versus 0% placebo · VENTURE 1
- Treatment-emergent serious adverse events3-6% across VK2735 groups versus 3% placebo · VENTURE 1
- Anti-drug antibodies9-23% across VK2735 groups · VENTURE 1
VK2735 draw calculator
Pick the vial strength and the water added, enter an amount, and see the concentration, the units to draw and how many draws the vial holds. Arithmetic only.

Computed from your inputs. Not a dose or a recommendation.
Compare water volumes for this vialShow
More water = lower concentration = a larger, easier-to-measure draw. Tap a row to use it.
| Water | mg/mL | Draw |
|---|---|---|
| 0.5 mL | 20 | — |
| 1 mL | 10 | — |
| 1.5 mL | 6.667 | — |
| 2 mL | 5 | — |
| 2.5 mL | 4 | — |
| 3 mL | 3.333 | — |
| 5 mL | 2 | — |
Supplies and handling
- Lyophilized vialSealed vial with the freeze-dried cake. Check the label, lot and the certificate of analysis before opening.
- Sterile diluentThe diluent named on the product documentation. Bacteriostatic water contains benzyl alcohol; sterile water does not.
- Graduated syringesSized to the volume being measured. U-100 insulin syringes are graduated in units where 100 units = 1 mL.
- Alcohol prep padsFor wiping vial stoppers before each puncture.
- Nitrile glovesClean gloves for aseptic handling.
- Sharps containerPuncture-resistant container for used needles.
Storage
Storage conditions for research material are set by the supplier's documentation; lyophilized peptides are generally sensitive to heat, light and moisture.
- Lyophilized (unmixed) vials: typically stored cold and dry, away from light, as the documentation directs. Many are stable longer frozen.
- Reconstituted vials: typically refrigerated (about 2–8 °C), protected from light and not frozen.
- Bacteriostatic water contains benzyl alcohol, which inhibits bacterial growth in multi-use vials; sterile water has no preservative.
Handling mistakes and troubleshooting
- Added the wrong volume of diluent
- The concentration changes, not the amount of compound in the vial. Recalculate with the volume actually added and relabel the vial.
- Shook the vial and it foamed
- Let it settle in the refrigerator. Foam is a sign of agitation; some peptides aggregate when shaken. Note it on the label.
- The solution is cloudy or has particles
- Do not use it. Cloudiness can indicate incomplete dissolution, contamination or degradation. Record the lot and contact the supplier with the certificate of analysis.
- The powder cake looks melted or shrunken before reconstitution
- This can indicate the vial was exposed to heat or moisture. Record the lot and condition on arrival.
- Liquid sprayed back when the needle was removed
- Pressure built up in the vial. Withdraw a small volume of air while adding diluent to keep pressure neutral.
Regulatory status
- Status
- Investigational as of 22 October 2026. An openFDA query of Drugs@FDA on that date returned no application record for VK2735 9, and its phase 3 trials are registered as active or not yet recruiting 5,6,7,8.
- United States (FDA)
- VK2735 is investigational; an openFDA query of Drugs@FDA application data on 22 October 2026 returned no application record for it 9.
- Sport (WADA)
- VK2735 is not named in the 2026 Prohibited List text reviewed. Section S0 covers pharmacological substances not addressed elsewhere on the List that have no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use, including drugs under clinical development; athletes should consult WADA directly 10.
Status varies by country and changes over time. How we describe regulatory status.
VK2735 compared with related compounds
| Compound | Status | Evidence | Human amounts | Half-life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VK2735 | Investigational | A | Trial doses | A numerical half-life was not located; t |
| Tesofensine | Investigational | B | Trial doses | About 234 hours (M1 metabolite about 374 |
| Mazdutide | Approved outside the US | A | Trial doses | 150.9 to 403.5 hours (phase 1b in overwe |
| Cagrilintide | Investigational | A | Trial doses | 159 to 195 hours (phase 1b, co-administe |
| SLU-PP-332 | Not approved — research use only | C | None established | Unknown in humans |
| MariTide (maridebart cafraglutide) | Investigational | A | Trial doses | Not reported numerically in the sources |
Frequently asked questions
What doses of VK2735 have been studied in humans?
Is there an established VK2735 cycle length?
How much bacteriostatic water should be added to a VK2735 vial?
How many units is a given amount on an insulin syringe?
What is the half-life of VK2735?
References
- Weekly Subcutaneous VK2735, a GIP/GLP-1 Receptor Dual Agonist, for Weight Management: Phase 2, Randomized, 13-Week VENTURE Study Obesity (Silver Spring). 2026
- VK2735 for Weight Management Phase 2 (VENTURE, NCT06068946), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2023
- Phase 1 Study to Evaluate the Safety and Tolerability of VK2735 (NCT05203237), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021
- VK2735 for Weight Management Phase 2 (VENTURE Oral Dosing, NCT06828055), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2024
- VK2735 for Weight Management Phase 3 (VANQUISH 1, NCT07104500), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2025
- VK2735 for Weight Management Type 2 Diabetes Phase 3 (VANQUISH 2, NCT07104383), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2025
- Oral VK2735 for Weight Management Phase 3 (SUNRISE 1, NCT07868835), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2026
- Oral VK2735 for Weight Management in Adults With Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus Phase 3 (SUNRISE 2, NCT07868939), registry record ClinicalTrials.gov. 2026
- Drugs@FDA application data queried through openFDA for VK2735 (no matching application record returned on 22 October 2026) openFDA / Drugs@FDA. 2026
- World Anti-Doping Agency International Standard Prohibited List 2026 WADA. 2026
- PubChem compound name search for VK2735 (no compound record returned on 22 October 2026) PubChem. 2026
Last reviewed October 23, 2026 by the Amiravo editorial team. Editorial policy · Report an error